Let’s Talk About the Tony’s

 

As I sit here waiting for the #SessionsHearings to start, I am reading reviews of the Tony Awards that took place last Sunday night. I actually really enjoyed it.

I thought Kevin Spacey did a great job. His opening was great. 

I love theater. I grew up a theater kid. I participated in many plays and especially musical theater. From Joseph and the Technicolor Dreamcoat to Les Miserables, I enjoyed every minute.

There are so many new musicals and plays out there. After #Hamilton, it’s nice to see a revival of Broadway. People who want to cut funding of the arts are crazy. Without the arts, we become a dry society that is devoid of creativity.

We need art. We need music. We need writings. We need a society that celebrates these things. Censorship and cutting the budget to things like PBS is not the way to go.

I admit that I watch my fair share of reality tv and other trash, but I still think literature, classical music, poetry, etc. are important.

I read a fair amount and I am often stunned at the amount of millennials who do not. Reading quick articles on your phone does not count. Reading stuff on LinkedIn also doesn’t count.

Books. Long form articles. Things that are not for work. That constitutes reading.

The Twin Cities has the second largest amount of theaters next to New York. It’s always so nice to see how packed they are when big plays come through town.

This summer we are going to go into NYC for a night and we are planning on seeing a show. I can’t wait. I haven’t been to a show on Broadway in quite some time. There are so many shows I want to see.

What do you recommend?

One thought on “Let’s Talk About the Tony’s

Leave a comment